How I got tangled up in knitting

As I said in my first post, I am completely shocked that I’ve become so hooked on knitting. If my preoccupation wasn’t so harmless, it would be weird.

I’m not a crafty person. At all. But a particular incident ensnarled me in this woolly, tangly web.

While browsing on my iPad one evening, I was intrigued by some beautiful photos of a Facebook friend’s knitting projects. At the same time I was checking two email accounts on my cell phone, and watching television. I clearly needed an analog distraction.

So, about this time last year, I enrolled in a four-session beginners’ knitting course at the Anna Templeton Centre in St. John’s. I wound up missing one of the classes. But I learned enough to get hooked.

Basically, if you can cast on, knit, purl, and cast off, you can make a lot of stuff.

I started with a lumpy, wobbly scarf.

015

Then I knit a basic toque in the round that was nearly wearable. The scarf and toque didn’t look the greatest, but making them felt – good.

Soon, I was picking up the needles every day. I found myself looking forward to evenings so I could sit down and let time disappear into skeins of wool.

My scarves got less wobbly. I made acceptable toques. Well, at least acceptable to my sweetie.

029

I graduated to fingerless gloves.  I figured out basic mittens.

By July, I was attempting my first pair of socks.

206

I knit in cars, on airplanes, on beaches, in waiting rooms, and of course, on the couch while watching television.

By November, I had signed up for a course on the Holy Grail of knitting: The Newfoundland trigger mitt.

IMG_3793

Over the Christmas holidays, I binged on what I now call Knitflix.

I watched the third season of Homeland while making a seed stitch hat.

I worked my way through Marvel’s Jessica Jones and a baccalieu patterned mitten with a picket fence top.

It wasn’t until recently that friends started sending me stories about how knitting is good for your brain, and how it can even create a sense of well being. Which may explain my addiction.

Then again, in the grand scheme of life, there are worse things to be hooked on.

How did you get tangled up in knitting?

 

2 thoughts on “How I got tangled up in knitting

  1. You have joined a magnificent group of obsessed women and men. I’ve been knitting on and off since I was 6 but I have become seriously obsessed in the past 5 years. I walked into a LYS here in Calgary and realize that knitting had come a long way in 40 years and that I had found “my peeps”. I love knitting socks, cowls and shawls.

    Like

  2. Welcome to the world of knitting. Sounds like you really have the bug. There are lots of us out there. I was waiting in a doctor’s office yesterday, working away on my sock, and the lady across the room said ” you’re ready to turn the heel now!” And she was right. I never go anywhere without my portable knitting project. Knitting is just part of me and has been for many many years. look forward to your musings on your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

